Bitch It Out, Seriously

image

Now, people use journals for all sorts of writing. I, however, have decided to use mine in a different way. What you see here, is my Bitch It Out Journal and of course my pen. I suffer from anxiety, depression, and I complain a bunch about things I can and cannot change. I finally realized all of this and needed a way to control it without taking it out on other people or bombarding people with my problems. Don’t get me wrong, talking it out is very beneficial but the way I did it was not.

I am not afraid to admit any of this and you shouldn’t be either.

This adorable little notebook you see is by a brand called Yoobi. I love this notebook because it has the band to close it and the paper is lined. I picked it up at target in the stationary section. Its pink, a nice vibrant color for such terrible thoughts (haha). Here’s how I use it:

Immediately when I get angry, or anxious, or I need to complain, I start frantically writing. I write exactly how the thoughts pop into my head. I write how much I hate something or how much something bothers me. As I am writing I start to think about why. “I hate my job because ___ but if I didn’t work here I can’t pay my bills.” This doesn’t always happen. Generally it’s just me venting to my notebook. The more I write the better I understand my triggers.

What makes this process special is I NEVER READ WHAT I WRITE AND NEITHER DOES ANYONE ELSE. This is important. I need to be alone with my thoughts whether they are rational or not. I need to vent because I can’t keep them bottled up. I don’t worry about punctuation or spelling. I cringe at how terrible my writing would be when I am fired up.

This is how I cope.

Comment